The completion of our State-Approved Defensive DrivingSafety Course is a great way to prevent traffic violations from damaging your driving record and is required by most courts to dismiss a traffic ticket. Nearly all insurance companies will give you a 10% reduction on your insurance costs for 3 years in addition to dismissing your ticket.
Taking a Defensive Driving course can teach you driving techniques that may just help you avoid a hazardous driving situation, and it increases your awareness of road safety overall. Completing a Defensive Driving course can be especially beneficial to beginner drivers and for some older drivers who may need a refresher course.
After you have obtained permission to take defensive driving from the court that issued your ticket, you have (in most cases) 90 days to complete the course. In addition to the defensive driving course completion, you may also be required to obtain a copy of your public Texas driving record which will be turned in with your defensive driving course completion certificate to the court.
Unless you are given special permission, you can only take defensive driving once a year to dismiss a ticket, your driving record will be proof of this.
To order your driving record you can either:
Order your Driving Record Online through the state website
Order your Driving Record through the US mail
Pick up a copy at one of three DPS locations listed below
If you have not waited until the last minute, ordering your driving record online may be the easiest way to request a copy. There are several types of driving records, each with slightly different types of information including history, violations, certified, and uncertified, and accidents.
Check with your precinct find out what type they require, most Texas courts require driving record number 3A. The link below will take you to the Texas DPS website where you can order directly.